One stitch at a time

My first experience knitting a sock has been bittersweet.

Minutes ago, I was close to completing the first half of my first pair.

Right here, they look pretty nice, right? Nice variegated yarn, a turquoise/teal blend none-the-less (my favorite color!)… But I made a mistake really early on. I could excuse the slightly lumpy heel, and the spot right after turning where I goofed up and cut my yarn early, but there’s one thing that kept nagging me. I did the top of the sock in stockinette (alternating knits and purls), and the purl side was somehow on the outside. So, it didn’t really match the bottom of the sock, which all looked like basic knit stitches. I didn’t really like it, and I realized, “I’m probably not going to wear these.” Then I had the classic argument with myself, “But I’ve spent hours on these already! It’s my first pair so they’re supposed to be messed up!” etc, etc. In contrast with times past though, I did the mature thing and pulled it all out. That’s right, I’m starting again right now, from scratch.

Typically, whenever I mess up a stitch, or an entire row, I keep it and call it “character.” I realized though, since it is my first sock and it’s supposed to be a learning experience, I should acknowledge my mistake and fix it. So, I’m starting over, right now, and I’m gonna get it right this time. And even if I don’t, I’m sure the third time’ll be my best yet!

I don’t usually write about anything “personal” on here, only because I started this blog as a place to document my creative adventures. But I’ve been running around a lot lately: traveling to Ecuador, spending time at home in Maryland, having random excitements in the city when I happen to be here for a day or two. My adventures right now are more real than ever, they’re happening every day. I’m being forced to make a lot of decisions, which is a good thing. For the first time in my life, I feel like I’m ready to commit to some things. And I’m ready to say, “I messed up. Let’s start over.”

I’m gonna figure it out, one stitch at a time. I’m sure I’ll come back to this later, and tell you a little bit more about everything that’s going on. I at least have to let you know how my socks turn out.

5 thoughts on “One stitch at a time

  1. Don’t cha wish we could fix the mistakes we make in life as easily as we fix the missed and mistake stitches in knitting socks. Good luck on your socks. Good luck in your “do over.”

    • I forget every single time I take a break from knitting. This isn’t the first time I’ve messed something up in the round. Ha! Thanks Rachel. I finally started over and they’re looking great. =)

      How are your socks coming along?!
      Are you working on other projects too?

Leave a Reply

